Making Peace with the Worst Case Scenario

“Negative thoughts!? But haven’t you read the secret?”

I know, I know  – negative thinking is bad, right?

If you bring negative thoughts to your mind, the Universe will give you exactly what you’ve thought of!

Image
I’ve heard this for a while, but it’s just not something that works for me.

For even a very optimistic person like myself, I find it freeing to imagine the worst and work backwards from there.

If there is something going on in my life, and I find myself stressed out, I often bring this to mind.

I think of the worst thing that could happen as a result.

Maybe I fail, maybe I don`t get that promotion, maybe I have to move in with my in-laws!

My goal is to then make peace with the fact that this is indeed a possibility. Although this worst thing is usually not going to occur, even if it does, I will not be surprised.

The truth is that with most things in life, the worst case scenario is actually not all that bad. And guess what? It’s something that I know I’m perfectly capable of dealing with.

This clarity allows me approach the situation with a sense of preparedness.  And when you are well prepared, there is nothing that can shake you.

You will no longer be afraid of the situation, but instead able to attack it with all your might –  to give the best effort you have within you.

Do not let fear hold you back from accomplishing the things you dream of.

Failing is not all that scary when you face it head-on.

19 thoughts on “Making Peace with the Worst Case Scenario

  1. well done. This is one of my life skills as well… get to the worst case scenario, settle it in my heart and anything better than that- i’m already prepared to accept. it works! enjoyed the post.

  2. Great post! I remember someone giving the acronym F.E.A.R. as False Evidence Appearing Real. Imagining the worst case scenario will definitely prepare you for anything else that comes. Although we don’t know how we’ll make it through it, we can in time. I try to remember that God knows what will happen before I do and there’s a reason and purpose for it.

  3. Pingback: Making Peace with the Worst Case Scenario from Harthelps | johndwmacdonald

  4. Something I preach to players and students and others. Once you understand the worst that can happen, nothing can phase you. Any little bumps or obstacles along the way are just that…bumps and obstacles that are to be overcome. Understand the worst and you are prepared to achieve the best.

  5. “And when you are well prepared, there is nothing that can shake you.”

    Best sentence in the piece. Well worded. I believe optimism is the best route, but it has to be tempered with the reality of worst-case scenarios.

  6. I’m embarking on a major live change, five years in the planning, and I’ve absolutely used this approach. When it comes to major life decisions that impact money, I’m very risk averse. I’ve had to account for this and plan for the worst-case scenario to give me the confidence I need to make this change.

  7. I had never thought of using the worst case scenarios as methods to dealing with stress. I like how you say to work backwards in order to move forwards. 🙂 That’s so true and yet it’s so easy to get caught up in the negativity and the fear.

  8. “Do not let fear hold you back from accomplishing the things you dream of.” this is it 🙂
    we maybe couldn’t erase the fear, but we can choose not to stay in it 🙂

  9. Hear, Hear! Right On! I walked away from the “Positive Thinking through Denying Reality” crowd, for just these very reasons – as I like to plan for the worst and hope for the best, as well.

  10. Pingback: The Optimisim Delusion | Hart Helps

  11. Pingback: Recreating Your World, An End To Negativity | My Everyday Psychology

  12. Yes, yes, yes. This is so me right now. I used to think only about what I wanted and failing was never an option. It worked for a while but then life kept knocking me down as I grew older. Due to the fact that I wasn’t prepared for failure, I took it so much worse than I should have. Thinking of the worst case scenario and accepting it takes the pressure out of the equation.

  13. This is too perfect. Fear is the enemy of growth. And who knows, maybe failing to get that promotion was your greatest blessing? 😉 I find that many times, the things in my life that don’t go “according to plan” are my most cherished moments.

Leave a comment